Minions

So yesterday evening I went to see the film which was advertised in three different adverts prior to it starting.

Minions_poster

Minions

My opinion of it? Well, I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it, and I’ll surely find some positives within my thoughts to explore, but first I want to say what I found overwhelmingly negative – the trailers.

Now, I was quite pumped for this, a great family film with the adorable little things no one can shut up about, so I had watched all the trailers for it. But, what I hadn’t expected, was that by the time I got into the theatre, I had actually watched a good proportion of the first 10 minutes before, multiple times, thanks to said trailers.

Now, this is by no means an unique flaw for this movie, movie trailers are tending to give away an awful lot these days (especially Terminator Genisys) but when I walk in to the theatre, I want to be immediately gripped and occasionally go, ‘oh, this was in the trailer!’ Instead, I found myself bored of the film straight away and gradually becoming aware of what other productive things I could be doing with my time.

To be fair, perhaps if I hadn’t watched the trailer so many times the whole scene at the beginning would have probably been much more amusing. But I had watched it. A lot.

I loved the period that it was set in though. Being 1968 it embraced all the clichés it could by using the appeal of the popular swinging sixties London – and did end up with some superb music because of it, even though it occasionally felt out of place. Also, if you know the era well, you could often see what was coming due to particular road signs, etc.

However, the humour otherwise was very childish and it was certainly a kid’s movie, rather than anything more ‘all-ages’ friendly. Especially if you didn’t stay until after the credits, because for me that was certainly the best bit.

 

I think perhaps I enjoyed it because it had a lot of potential, although it didn’t fully deliver, but also because I was expecting to enjoy it. After all, Despicable Me 1 and 2 were both great, so Minions had a tough act to follow.

 

3 out of 5 stars – didn’t live up to its potential

 

Buzzy

About

Classicist, Linguist and general appreciator of the world.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Film reviews, Film/Tv Reviews
