30 Day Disney Challenge 3 – Favourite film.

So today I have set myself the ultimate challenge – actually deciding which Disney film I love best.

Having considered my many choices I’m going to do a rundown of the films who didn’t quite make the cut.

  • Firstly, The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh. I love Winnie the Pooh, I always have done and probably always will do, and I think this is perhaps my absolute favourite franchise within Disney – I love the ride, I own pretty much every Winnie the Pooh cuddly and I also have the soundtracks (on CD) to 3 different movies. And, that is where I hit the problem. I just love Winnie the Pooh, I don’t particularly love the film, and I certainly wouldn’t put it above The Tigger Movie, Piglet’s Big Movie, or any of the others. Sorry silly old bear.
  • Next, Big Hero Six. I loved this movie, how it was action packed, heartfelt and heart-breaking (plus with an added Stan Lee cameo.) I felt the reception it received was underwhelming and completely overshadowed by the lingering tendrils of Frozen. But, I also liked the fact that it could have perceived as a ‘boy’s movie’ but that wasn’t the feeling I got at the time. However, I don’t think I have known this movie for long enough to develop enough love for it. Falalalala.
  • Beauty and the Beast. I couldn’t even tell you the last time I watched this, but I seem to have recently become slightly obsessed with it (as you will know if you follow me on Pinterest.) The music used in it is spectacularly underappreciated and I have taken to listening ‘The Mob Song’ on repeat. Plus, who doesn’t like a feel good classic? However, my sheer lack of actually having watched this film recently means that this movie didn’t get through before the last petal fell.

But now it is time to say aloha to my favourite movie. A movie which I recently managed to watch three times over the period of two days (complete accident, each time with different people.) A movie which tears out your heart whilst you are laughing, and a movie which leaves you wondering ‘why didn’t Bubbles change his name to something more intimidating?’

That’s right ladies and gents – my favourite movie is Lilo and Stitch!

Lilo_&_Stitch_logo_svg

Logo of the 2002 Walt Disney Feature Animation’s animated film Lilo & Stitch

Aside from David being the absolute best for sticking with Nani all through invariably weird stuff and terrible happening the her and Lilo for no reason other than he wants to help, this film is filled with the joys of finding a friend when you think you have lost everything and the message of appreciating your family because they love you even if they show it in ways that may be deceiving. Nani spends the entire film looking after Lilo and caring for her, even accepting her quirks about paying for the dog herself and feeding Pudge.

Plus, the feeding of Pudge and the attitude Lilo’s peers at the dance group show how much of an impact traumatic events in our life have on us, and how much the people who are close to us will try to help us overcome these problems.

Ohana means family, and family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.

Buzzy

About

Classicist, Linguist and general appreciator of the world.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Disney
One comment on “30 Day Disney Challenge 3 – Favourite film.
  1. […] have previously mentioned what I think is the most underrated song in my post about my favourite film, and that song is The Mob Song from Beauty and the […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

