30 Day Disney Challenge 8 – Which parks have you been to?

By Flickr user: Gerard McGovern :en:London http://www.flickr.com/people/inkiboo/ [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Flickr user: Gerard McGovern :en:London http://www.flickr.com/people/inkiboo/ [CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

I am somewhat lucky in the fact that I have been to Walt Disney World multiple times. However, I have never been to any other park, not Disneyland California, not Disneyland Paris and not any of the others.

I’m slightly restricted in what I can really talk about here, except for what is blatantly obvious, due to some of the upcoming challenge days, however I think I shall try to talk more about the parks in general.

Blizzard Beach is where I’m going to start, and, to be honest, that’s because I can’t really remember it very much. On my last visit I only went to Typhoon Lagoon (and the wave pool was shut for at least half that day) but I’d say I like both waterparks very much. Particularly their names, I love the juxtaposition and also the rhyme/alliteration in each of them.

The parks with the rides in are all fantastic, although frequently insufferably hot, and there is plenty of wonderful food and theming. Animal Kingdom is quite underrated I’d say.

The fireworks at each park are all individual in their own right and I excitedly await the new ‘River’s of Light’ at the Animal Kingdom (which I hope will gain the park some reputation.) Wishes I can more or less flawlessly recite and is really great, though I do wonder whether something new will be in the mix following Disneyland’s 60th fireworks where they used projections on the street – though that may be in a while to retain the ‘specialness’ for the 60th.

For IllumiNations I once bagged a boat when those who had organised it didn’t turn up, and I would highly recommend such an experience. Seeing the fireworks in clear view and seeing it all happening above you is quite something, plus you can see all the poor people who have waited hours for their frontline seats. 😉

It was incredibly disappointing that last time I went, I only arranged to see Fantasmic! on one of my very last days, so when the most horrific thunderstorm struck, it was cancelled for safety reasons and the park was more or less abandoned, so once again I cannot truly remember the experience of being there, but from watching on YouTube it is a magnificent story. (The peak of that night was when we gave up trying to get out so went back into the park and got a family load of fastpasses for Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster from people who were evacuating. You couldn’t do that anymore…

Buzzy

About

Classicist, Linguist and general appreciator of the world.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Disney
